Health Services

Students Admitted at Ages 4-6 years Need These Immunizations:

Parents must show their child's Immunization Record as proof of immunization. These immunization requirements also apply to students entering transitional kindergarten.

 

Students Admitted at Ages 7-17 Years Need These Immunizations:

  • Diphtheria,Tetanus, and Pertussis (DTaP, DTP, DT, Tdap, or Td)—4 doses
    (3 doses OK if last dose was given on or after 2nd birthday)

  • Polio (OPV or IPV)—4 doses
    (3 doses OK if one was given on or after 2nd birthday)

  • MeaslesMumps, and Rubella (MMR)—1 dose
    (2 doses required at 7th grade)

  • Varicella (chickenpox)
    (Admission at ages 7-12 years need 1 dose; ages 13-17 years need 2 doses)

  • TetanusDiphtheria,and Pertussis (Tdap) —1 dose at  7th grade or out-of-state transfer admission at 8th–12thgrades
    (1 dose on or after the 7th birthday)

  • California schools are required to check immunization records for all new student admissions at TK/Kindergartenthrough 12th grade and all students advancing to 7th grade before entry. Parents must show their child's Immunization Record as proof of immunization. 

Students Need These Immunizations to Start 7th Grade:

  • TetanusDiphtheriaPertussis (Tdap) —1 dose
    (Whooping cough booster usually given at ages 11 and up)
     

  • Measles-containing vaccine (MMR) — 2 doses
    (Usually given at 12 months of age and 4-6 years of age)

This school immunization law affects all students in public and private schools. Parents must show their child's Immunization Record as proof of immunization.

Additional school immunization requirements for 7th graders typically apply to students who:

  • Had a valid personal beliefs exemption filed before 2016 upon entry between TK/Kindergarten and 6th grade, or

  • Are new admissions, including from out-of-state; applies to all grades.

Oral_Health_Assessment Card IconOral Health AssessmentTop of Page

California law, Education Code Section 49452.8, now requires that your child have an oral health assessment by May 31st in Kindergarten or first grade, whichever is his or her first year of public school. The law specifies that the assessment must be preformed by a licensed dentist or other licensed or registered dental health professional. Oral health assessments that have happened within the 12 months before your child enters school also meet this requirement. Please contact the school office at (916)655-3235 for the assessment form or download by choosing the link provided.

Oral Assessment Form

Medications_at_School Card IconMedications at SchoolTop of Page

In order for medications to be administered at school, all medications need to be accompanied by an Authorization for Medication to be Given at School form signed by a physician and / or the parent (depending on the type of medication). If your child must take medication during school hours, an adult must bring it to the office in the original container.

Head_Lice Card IconHead LiceTop of Page

Having head lice is very common. Preschool and elementary children, aged 3-10, and their families are infested most often by head lice. For facts, photos, and information on prevention and treatment, please visit the following sites.

Health_Information_Privacy Card IconHealth Information PrivacyTop of Page

Federal privacy standards to protect patients' medical records and other health information took effect in 2004 under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

To maintain the privacy of your health information, it is the policy of Pleasant Grove Join Union School District to receive written authorization from a patient prior to releasing or utilizing healthcare information.
  • Click here to view the HIPAA Authorization form on the Forms page.
Shots for schools banner